The Refreshing of God

As much as I love long-weekends, the days that follow are a bit of a strain.  I had a fantastic Victoria Day off on Monday but found the rest of the week to be incredibly draining.  It could also be that right now my two volunteer coaching positions are overlapping so that I have more commitments in the evening than I usually do.  I truly love those evenings with the kids, getting some exercise and having fun but it adds to my overall busyness and I will be glad when those commitments lessen.

I also found this week to be a strain in working with the clients I saw.  For some reason, this week was full of challenging cases.  It seemed like each family was going through a stressful time and had an emotional story to share.  I’ve never considered myself to be overly susceptible to compassion fatigue, but after a week like this I can appreciate how tiring it is to become that invested in the stories of others.  As a Public Health Nurse and Lactation Consultant, not just invested but to even try to help people make changes to their stories as they feel the need, to walk alongside them and live a small part of their story with them.

In so many ways it is an incredible honour, even, I think, how God has called us to interact with and live in community with each other.  It is more stressful to do so in a secular job where my ability to speak of the One who writes each of our stories and walks alongside us through ever minute, is hindered and restricted from how I’d like to share.  I look forward to the day when I’m working overseas and I can interact with people in a more honest way, trying to point them to the One who has upheld my story through some pretty rocky times.  I further pray for more opportunity here to share with people and for them to be prompted to ask me about my faith and open the door for me to share about my relationship with Jesus.

As I came home this evening to try to find some (physical and) mental and spiritual rest and renewal, I was further reminded that I haven’t been spending as much time in the Word as I clearly need to be.  Although it is great to dive into God’s Truth when I’m feeling dry, the best way to be sustained and refreshed is to be in the Word continually, to be in God’s presence to prevent the dryness from happening.

One of my favourite passages that reminds me of how God calls us to respond in the dry moments in our lives is Psalm 42.  May you also find refreshing through these words of Truth:

As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, O God.

2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?

3 My tears have been my food
day and night,
while men say to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”

4 These things I remember
as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go with the multitude,
leading the procession to the house of God,
with shouts of joy and thanksgiving
among the festive throng.

5 Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and
6 my God.
My
soul is downcast within me;
therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.

7 Deep calls to deep
in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
have swept over me.

8 By day the LORD directs his love,
at night his song is with me—
a prayer to the God of my life.

9 I say to God my Rock,
“Why have you forgotten me?
Why must I go about mourning,
oppressed by the enemy?”

10 My bones suffer mortal agony
as my foes taunt me,
saying to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”

11 Why are you downcast, O my soul?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

Leave a comment

Filed under May 2010

Leave a Reply

