End of the Old

I am not the type of person to get caught up in New Years’ celebrations.  For one reason, I believe that God’s mercies are new every morning (Lam  3:22-23) so that we each get a new start everyday – no need to wait to New Year’s eve to allow God to change us!

There is something in me that still recognizes the newness of turning the calendar to a new year and I have found myself organizing my life – purging old items no longer in use, paying off a loan, reorganizing my files and my budget.  Some of this is a factor of simply having the time available while I’m off work to get the jobs done, but there is also something of wanting to organize my life and begin some things anew.

I am very conscious, though that regardless of how many papers I organize or how much “junk” I part with, the only change that will be lasting are the changes that God makes in my life as I submit myself to Him.  It’s the simplest thing and yet the hardest too.  My prayer for myself, my family, friends, loved ones and for you this New Year’s is that we would learn to submit ourselves more fully to God’s loving, faithful Kingship and that we would grab ahold of His mercies which are new every morning.

Great blessings on you and yours as we embark on 2010!

In Him, Carrie

Leave a comment

Filed under December 2009

Leave a Reply

